Mike Bauer
Scientific Director
Telephone: 519-661-3562
Fax: 519-850-2500
Cindy Munro
Director of Finance and Administration
Telephone: 519-661-2111 x 86015
Fax: 519-850-2500

John Morton
Director of Technology
Telephone: 519-546-7490
Fax: 519-850-2500

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors has responsibility for the overall business and management of SHARCNET and approves policies that guide its operation. Each institutional partner appoints a representative to the Board.

The Board also includes industrial representation and a researcher representative from the SHARCNET community.

Site Leaders

Local SHARCNET activities are led and coordinated by Site Leaders. Site leaders are faculty members appointed by their home institution and act as the main point of contact for SHARCNET at the partner institution, with both the research community and the institution.

Management Advisory Committee

Comprised of the Associate Director(s), Director of Finance and Administration, Technical Manager, Chair of the Site Leaders' Committee and Scientific Director, which serves as an advisory committee to the Scientific Director.


SHARCNET has several standing committees of people from the general SHARCNET research community, along with representatives from SHARCNET management and staff to address specific issues and make recommendations and suggestions to SHARCNET management or the Board.

Technical Staff

The technical team manages the day-to-day operation of SHARCNET systems and provides research computing support.
  • High Performance Computing Technical Consultants assist researchers in the efficient and effective use of the computational resources and provide guidance on program applications.
  • Systems administrators manage and operate the computational resources, the local network and interconnectivity between sites.


The technical team in November, 2020:


First row (l-r): John Morton, Sergey Mashchenko, Pawel Pomorski, Tyson Whitehead, James Desjardins

Second row (l-r): Edward Armstrong, Jemmy Hu, Tyler Collins, Armin Sobhani, Jinhui Qin

Third row (l-r): Baolai Ge, Jose Sergio Hleap, Fraser McCrossan, Terry McKay, Darcy Hodgson

Fourth row (l-r): Kaizaad Bilimorya, Paul Preney, Shawn Winnington-Ball, Weiguang Guan, Mark Hahn

Fifth row (l-r): Isaac Ye, Mohamed Elsakhawy, Doug Roberts, Chou Khamkeuang, Servilio Afre Puentes

View SHARCNET organizational structure.